You are here: Update Users

Manage Users

When you make changes to Okta users assigned to the integration, your changes are automatically and quickly reflected in Configuration Manager without any need for you to update manually in two user management systems.

In addition to standard user attribute changes, 8x8 integration with Okta also syncs user activation status; you can deactivate or reactivate a user in Okta to change their activation status in 8x8 Configuration Manager as well.

Note: User updates synchronize from Okta to 8x8, but not vice versa.

Update Users

From Okta, you can make changes to user details that then carry over to Configuration Manager.

To update user attributes:

  1. Under Directory in Okta, search for the name of the user to change.
  2. From the search results, click the name of the desired user.
  3. In the Applications sub-tab of the user details, the presence of the 8x8 integration with Okta app in the list indicates that the integration is already assigned to the user.
  4. In the Profile sub-tab of the user, click Edit above the list of user attributes to begin editing.
  5. Make the needed updates, such as a change of phone number or last name, and save.
  6. If the attributes you changed are among the mapped user attributes specified in 8x8 integration with Okta settings, you see the changes reflected in Configuration Manager after you save in Okta.

Deactivate and Reactivate Users

When you deactivate or reactivate a user in Okta, the change quickly carries over to Configuration Manager, disabling or enabling the user's 8x8 services.

To deactivate or reactivate a user:

  1. Under Directory in Okta, search for the name of the user to change.
  2. From the search results, click the name of the desired user.
  3. In the user details, click More Actions to open a drop-down menu.
  4. From the drop-down, you can choose to deactivate an active user, or reactivate an inactive user.

 


Send us your Feedback