You are here: Add Users > Assign Roles and Groups

Assign Roles and Groups

You must first create user profiles in 8x8 Account Manager and assign the agent or administrator privileges to them. You can then continue configuring those users in Configuration Manager and define their roles and groups.

The new administrators are automatically assigned to the System Default role in Configuration Manager. The System Default role has View permissions by default. However, you can modify it by allowing other permissions such as Write, Create, and Edit. The new administrator appears under the admins list indicated with a check mark. The Secondary Administrator is indicated with (2). A default group, called ungroup, is assigned to all agents. You can create a new group later and use it instead of the default group.

To assign roles and groups to the users:

  1. From the Configuration Menu, open Users.
  2. Click to open and configure a user account.

  3. Select the Current Country of your agent from the list.
  4. Select an Agent Group from the groups you have created before.
    The system automatically assigns the agents to the default ungroup group. You can create agent groups by going to Groups from the Configuration Menu. For details, refer to Create Agent Functional Groups.
  5. Select a Role from the drop-down list for the Secondary Administrators.

    Note: The Role option under the General tab is available only to Secondary Administrators. When you add a Secondary Administrator, they are automatically assigned to the System Default role. If you have created another role, you can select it from the drop-down list. You can create roles by going to Security > Roles. For details, refer to Create Roles and Assign Administrators.

    The following table summarizes the options under Users > General.

    General Tab OptionDescription
    EnabledIf selected, allows the user to log in to Agent Console using their username and password.
    First NameThis is a read-only field. The user's first name is entered by the administrator when creating the user profile in Account Manager.
    Last NameThis is a read-only field. The user's last name is entered by the administrator when creating the user profile in Account Manager.
    Email AddressThis is a read-only field. The user's email address is entered by the administrator when creating the user profile in Account Manager. Virtual Contact Center uses email to send users copies of their direct access voicemail messages. The email address is also used for the password reset emails.
    Internal IdRead-only ID automatically assigned by the system once a user profile is created in Account Manager.
    UsernameThis is a read-only field. By default, a user’s email address is copied into the Username field when creating the user profile in Account Manager. The username must be globally unique. If the email address is not unique within 8x8, or if you wish to create a username of your own, you must choose one that has never been used before.
    Current CountryBy selecting the country of an agent, you can optimize the call quality and routing. It hints the system about the agent's location and offers improved call quality.
    Software LanguageChoose the language used for the Agent Console interface.
    Agent GroupSelect the users group assignment such as Sales, Support, Marketing, etc. You can select the default ungroup if no other group is defined yet.
    RoleRole is only available for administrators, but not Virtual Contact Center agents or supervisors. Select an administrator role, such as:
    • Super User: Has full administrative capabilities as the Primary Administrator
    • System Default: Is a default role in the tenant that grants List and Details permissions to the administrators
    • Any user-defined roles: Any admin roles, such as campaign manager, created by the administrator. You can create a new role by going to Security > Roles.
    CommentEnter a description for the user's account.
  6. Enter a comment or a user description.
  7. Save the changes. If you navigate away from this tab without saving changes, the changes are lost.

The next step is to configure user properties.

 


Send us your Feedback