Note: This feature is available to Virtual Office, 8x8 Video Meetings Pro, and registered Standalone users, but not to guests who have not signed in. In addition, different types of users have access to meeting recordings for different periods of time.
For details on 8x8 Video Meetings features available to different user types, click here.

Record 8x8 Video Meetings

Let’s say you are hosting an important meeting or presentation in 8x8 Video Meetings that not everyone will be able to attend live; to ensure that everyone can review what was discussed in the meeting, you can simply record the meeting for future reference and share it with participants. In the collaborative environment of 8x8 Video Meetings, anyone attending as a Virtual Office or registered Standalone user can record!

When you start recording, you can choose to store the meeting recording under Meetings > Recents in your app, or using your external Dropbox cloud file storage. You can then share your meeting recording with participants who need access to it!

Start recording meetings

In just a few clicks during a meeting, you can start recording!

To record a meeting with 8x8 Video Meetings:

  1. Click or tap the More actions icon to open a menu of advanced meeting controls and options.
  2. From the options, click or tap Start recording. At the prompt:
    • If you joined via desktop or mobile app: Select whether to store the recording under Meetings > Recents in your app, or to store it in Dropbox.
      • If you choose your app, select whether you want other participants to have automatic access to the recording in their apps. Then, confirm to begin recording the meeting.
      • If you choose Dropbox, you are prompted to sign in to Dropbox. Once you sign in, you begin recording the meeting.
    • If you joined via web: Sign in to Dropbox to begin recording the meeting.
  3. If you need to stop the recording before the meeting ends, click the recording option again to toggle it off.

Share meeting recordings

Once a recorded meeting is over, you can share the recording with anyone who needs access to it!

Note: If you selected Dropbox to store your recording, you have access to that recording for an unlimited time period. If you selected your 8x8 app to store your recording, depending on your user type, you have access to your recording from your 8x8 app for different periods of time:
-Virtual Office users: Unlimited time
-8x8 Video Meetings Pro users: 60 days
-8x8 Video Meetings Standalone users: Three days

To share a meeting recording stored in your app:

  1. If you recorded a meeting from your app and chose to store your meeting recording in your app, open your app.
  2. In the app, go to Meetings > Recents to see your list of recent meetings. If a meeting has one or more files associated with it, including recordings, a Files icon shows up next to the meeting.
  3. From the list of meetings, select the desired meeting to see the details and recordings associated with it.
  4. From the meeting details, hover over the recording and click the Share Meeting icon that appears to copy the meeting recording link to your clipboard.
  5. Once you have the meeting recording link, you can open the link in your own browser to download the recording as an MP4 file, and share either the link or the file with participants as needed.

To share a meeting recording stored in Dropbox:

  1. If you recorded a meeting and chose to store your meeting recording in Dropbox, go to the Dropbox address you specified prior to recording.
  2. From the specified Dropbox storage location, you can share the recording file with participants as needed.