What's New in the Virtual Office Mobile App 7.7 Release?

We have introduced the following enhancements and changes in the Virtual Office mobile app:

Ability to Add Companies as Contacts Without First or Last Name

If you frequently contact the primary number of another organization and choose to create a contact for it with the Company field filled out, but not the fields for first or last name, the new contact and its company name properly show up in your list of contacts.

For details, see our content on creating personal contacts.

Improved Conference Call Controls

While you are in a conference call, the Transfer and Park controls are now disabled to better reflect supported conference call functionality.

Improved Call Transfer to Company Contacts

To better enable you to transfer a call to someone in your organization, tapping the Transfer option on a live call now brings you directly to the company directory rather than your list of recent calls.

Enhanced Voicemail Experience

To improve performance, audio for each voicemail is now downloaded on demand rather than automatically. In addition, you are notified if there was an error during the download.

Messaging Improvements

The following enhancements apply to your messaging experience in the Messages tab.

Ability to Edit Your Messages

If you paste the wrong content into a chat or spot a sentence-altering typo in a message you sent, you can quickly edit the message to correct it and prevent confusion in the chat. Simply press and hold on a message to bring up a menu, and select the Edit option to begin editing. As you edit and once you finish editing, the timestamp for the message changes to indicate its status as currently or previously edited.

Note: You can edit IMs with company contacts, but not SMS messages with personal contacts and external numbers.

For details, see our content on editing your messages.

Ability to Delete Your Messages

If you enter a message into a chat with the wrong contact or group of people, you can delete the message to prevent confusion or distraction in the chat. Simply press and hold on a message to bring up a menu, select the Delete option, and confirm to delete the message. Once you delete the message, the content and timestamp of the message change to indicate that its content has been deleted, and what time the message was deleted.

Note: You can delete IMs with company contacts, but not SMS messages with personal contacts and external numbers.

For details, see our content on deleting your messages.

Improved Ability to Mention Contacts in a Room

While chatting in a room, you have quick access to an @ key you can tap without navigating to the @ key in your primary keyboard.

For details, see our content on mentioning contacts in rooms.

Improved Typing Indicator in Rooms

Your typing indicator tells you when someone is typing in your room, which helps room members avoid stepping on each other's toes while chatting. If multiple people are typing in a room at the same time, this release allows you to see multiple names in the typing indicator at the bottom of the room.


Copyright © 2019 8x8, Inc. All Rights Reserved – Version 7.7