8x8 Virtual Office Meetings allows you to enhance and streamline your meeting experience by sharing content from your desktop, or using the Whiteboard to brainstorm your ideas. The collaborative nature of Virtual Office Meetings leaves content sharing open to all participants, rather than just the host.
Meeting hosts can stop other participants from sharing content, and can record shared content for future reference.
- Share on-screen content, such as a web page or a presentation.
- Use the Whiteboard to brainstorm your ideas.
- Draw flowcharts on the fly as you plan with your participants.
- Bring attention to important points by highlighting content.
- As a host, record shared content along with meeting audio.
- Access recorded content from the Virtual Office desktop app, and share with participants.
When you click the Share Content icon in the meeting controls, a window appears, allowing you to share your entire desktop, an application, or a virtual whiteboard. During content sharing, all your on-screen actions in the shared area are captured and transmitted live to other meeting participants.
To share screen content:
While in a meeting, click the Share Content icon.
The Share Screen window appears, listing the windows open on your desktop.
You can choose to share your desktop, an application window, or a whiteboard. Make your selection:
- If you share your desktop, your entire screen is shared. However, if you share an application window, the window that is visible to other participants is indicated by a red frame.
- Select your desktop or an application window in the Share Screen window, and click Share.
A red frame appears around your desktop or the selected window, indicating the portion of the screen visible to other participants.
If you share a single window, note that additional overlapping windows inside the red frame are not visible to participants.
- You are able to interact with the framed portion of your screen normally as it is shared, and the frame follows a window as it is moved.
- To stop sharing screen content, click the Stop Content Sharing icon.
- If you share a whiteboard, only the whiteboard is visible to other participants.
- Click Share Whiteboard at the bottom of the Share Screen window.
- The Whiteboard window appears on your screen; only the whiteboard is shared.
- Use the drawing tools in the Annotation Toolbar to share information. The toolbar allows you to:
- Draw freeform.
- Draw lines, circles, or squares.
- Select existing objects.
- Choose different colors to write or draw in.
- Insert existing images from your computer.
- Insert a text box.
- Change font size.
- Delete a drawing element.
- Clear the whiteboard.
- Highlight a portion of the whiteboard.
- Undo or redo actions.
- To stop sharing the whiteboard, click the Stop Content Sharing icon.
To stop a participant's content sharing as a host:
- While in the Participants tab of a meeting, hover over the desired participant's name.
- Click the Stop Content Sharing icon that pops up. The chosen participant's content sharing is stopped.
Open topic with navigation