You are here: About Meetings > In-Meeting Experience > Share Content

Share Content

8x8 Virtual Office Meetings allows you to enhance and streamline your meeting experience by sharing content from your desktop. The collaborative nature of Virtual Office Meetings leaves content sharing open to all participants, rather than just the host.

Meeting hosts can stop other participants from sharing content, and can record shared content for future reference.

Features

Limitations

To share screen content:

  1. In your main meeting window, click the More Options icon to open a menu.
  2. From the menu, select Start screen sharing to open the Share screen prompt, which lists the windows available on your desktop.

    You can choose to share your desktop or an application window. During content sharing, all your on-screen actions in the shared area are captured and transmitted live to other meeting participants in the same portion of the meeting window where participant video is visible.

  3. Select your desktop or an application window in the Share Screen window, and click Share.
    A frame appears around your desktop or the selected window, indicating the portion of the screen visible to other participants.
    If you share a single window, note that additional overlapping windows inside the frame are not visible to participants.

    Note: When you start sharing content, your application window collapses into a thumbnail in the corner of your screen, labeled with the name of the meeting. Click the Back arrow in the thumbnail to expand the application window to its normal size.

  4. You are able to interact with the framed portion of your screen normally as it is shared, and the frame follows a window as it is moved.
  5. To stop sharing screen content, click the More Options icon in your main meeting window again, and from the menu that opens, select Stop screen sharing.

To stop a participant's content sharing as a host:

  1. In your main meeting window, click the More Options icon to open a menu.
  2. From the menu, select Start screen sharing to stop the current participant's content sharing, and open the Share screen prompt on your computer. Then:

 


Send us your feedback