Virtual Office Meetings allows you to collaborate with your meeting participants by sharing content (such as a web page or a slide show) from your desktop, or using the Whiteboard to brainstorm your ideas. The collaborative nature of Virtual Office Meetings leaves content sharing open to all participants, not just the host.
Meeting hosts can stop other participants from sharing content, and can record shared content for future reference.
When you select in the meeting controls, a window appears, allowing you to share your entire desktop, an application, or a virtual whiteboard. During content sharing, all your on-screen actions in the shared area are captured and transmitted live to other meeting participants.
To start sharing content:
- Click in the meeting controls.
- The Share Screen window appears, listing the windows open on your desktop.
- You may now choose to share your desktop, an application window, or a whiteboard. Make your selection and click Share.
If you choose to share your desktop, your entire screen is shared. However, if you choose to share an application window, only that window (indicated by a red frame around it on your screen) is visible to other meeting participants.
Note: If another participant is currently sharing content, a warning displays at the top of the Share Screen window, indicating that if you begin content sharing, any prior content sharing will end.
How do I share a desktop or an application window?
- Select your desktop or an application window in the upper portion of the Share Screen window.
- A red frame appears around your desktop or the selected window, indicating the portion of the screen visible to other participants.
- You are able to interact with the framed portion of your screen normally as it is shared, and the frame follows a window as it is moved.
- To stop sharing your screen, click in the meeting controls.
How do I share a whiteboard?
- Click Share Whiteboard at the bottom of the Share Screen window.
- The Whiteboard window appears on your screen; only the whiteboard is shared.
- Use the drawing tools in the Annotation Toolbar to share information. The toolbar allows you to:
- draw freeform.
- draw lines, circles, or squares.
- select existing objects.
- choose different colors to write or draw in.
- insert existing images from your computer.
- insert a text box.
- change font size.
- delete a drawing element.
- clear the whiteboard.
- highlight a portion of the whiteboard.
- undo or redo actions.
- You may stop sharing the whiteboard either by clicking or by closing the window.
Note: At this time, shared whiteboards cannot be saved.
How can a meeting host record shared content?
- Click in the meeting controls to open a drop-down menu.
- From the drop-down, select Start Recording.
- Agree to the recording terms and conditions. An announcement plays for all participants that the meeting is being recorded.
- To stop recording, reopen the drop-down under , and select Stop Recording. An announcement plays for all participants that the meeting is no longer being recorded.
The host can end recording at will, or continue recording for the duration of the meeting. Even if all hosts leave the meeting, the recording continues until the end of the meeting if not switched off manually.
- After the meeting ends, hosts can access meeting recordings.
Open topic with navigation