You are here: Process Phone Interactions > Make Outbound Phone Calls > Manage Your Status During Outbound Calls

Manage Your Status During Outbound Calls

During outbound calls, your status changes to Busy, or preserves your current status. You can route the call through a queue by selecting an outbound phone code, provided that your contact center administrator has set it up. Your status changes to Busy. If you do not route the call through an outbound queue, your current status is preserved. For example, if your status is Available while making an outbound call, and you do not route the call through a queue, Agent ConsoleVirtual Contact Center's browser-based graphical user interface (GUI) used by Agents to manage customer interactions. leaves your status as Available, offering new incoming phone interactions.

Change Your Status to Busy

Changing your status to Busy during an outbound call requires you to route the call through a queue. This is enabled through outbound phone codes, where each code is associated with an outbound queue. You must be a member of the outbound phone queue, as well as be assigned to the code list.

To change your status to busy during an outbound call:

  1. In the Phone tab, enter a phone number, and click Dial.
    You are prompted to select an Outbound Phone Code.
  2. Select a code from the list, and click Dial.
    The call dials out and routes through the specified queue, changing your status to Busy. It dials your phone first and then the destination number.

Retain Your Current Status

If you do not route an outbound call through a queue, your current status is retained and you are offered new incoming interactions if you are Available. This is not desirable when you are on another call. To work around the situation, you can follow the steps below:

If you are on an outbound call, and Agent Console offers you a new interaction, you have two options:

If you neither accept nor reject the new interaction, and the interaction acceptance interval reaches zero, Agent Console returns the new interaction to the phone queue, and changes your status to Working Offline.

Note: The Reject interaction button is disabled if your contact center administrator has not granted the permission. This prevents agents from rejecting the interactions they are offered.

See Also

 


Send us your Feedback